Will Run For Yoga

Running, Yoga, and Food

Holy Track Workout Batman!

on July 26, 2013

Last night was our final night of speedwork and we ended with a doozie of a workout!

Many of us were expecting to do another mile time trial to compare with our first one 8 weeks ago and be finished so my heart sunk a little when I opened the email that contained the following workout:

1600m, 800m x 2, 400m x 2

Holy crap!  I HATE 800s…with a passion.  I have so much trouble pacing myself in the first lap to hit my time goal.  I either go out way too fast and then slow down or I am too conservative and kill myself on the second lap trying to hit my time.  Oh, and what do they mean two 800s and two 400s  after the mile?!?!?!?!

I got to the track after a really long and exhausting day thinking hey, I could just pick up my t-shirt, run the mile, and go home.  (If you know me at all, you know these were just empty threats).  I started the mile and went out pretty slow for my first lap then gradually started to pick it up.  I knew I shouldn’t go full out because I still had the rest of the workout so I tried to hold back.  While I will never be a speed demon and still finished next to last, I took a whopping 26 seconds off of my time trial!  Holy crap, how did I do that?!

Sadly, the rest of the workout did not go as well.  I finished the entire thing but I was under time goal on everything…by at least 15 seconds!  The second 800 and 400 were even slower than the first but I know I gave it everything I had and hello?  26 seconds is pretty darn awesome in my book!

Image

                                         (source)

This chapter of speed work comes to a close but chapter 2 opens up in two weeks because speed work (with the same coach) is included in my half training plan…lucky me!

*Hopefully you get the oozing sarcasm because I am actually super excited about it!  WAHOO!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

Not Your Average Athlete

Running Through LIfe One Step At A Time

Becoming A Runner

A blog about the baby steps

Curvy Girl Unloaded

My Evolution to a Healthier Me

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

A Girl Runs in Brooklyn

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

Angry Jogger

Running, Yoga, and Food

Sarah OUaL

seeking the "greener" "other side"

Loving Life

dedicated to healthy living and hoping to inspire others along the way

Kath Eats Real Food

A Blog Devoted to Healthy Living

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

