Will Run For Yoga

Running, Yoga, and Food

Purity Moosic City Dairy Dash (aka the best race ever!)

on April 17, 2013

This is the third year in a row that I have run the Dairy Dash.  It is a very flat course and they offer a 5k, 10k, or combo.  First of all, let me say I LOVE this race!  Then again, who doesn’t love a race that has ice cream at the finish line?

We arrived early to pick up our packets and when we got to the main area, we were delighted to see quite the spread.  They had juice, coffee, every kind of milk you could imagine, and donuts!  I caved and had a pre-race donut – which I am totally crediting for my PR…well either that or the fact that I knew there was ice cream at the finish!

I always hang out with my much faster friends until just before the race starts and then move back in the crowd to actually start the race – but not this time.  I was chatting with my friends when suddenly, the gun went off…no announcement, no prep, no National Anthem, nothing.  So I took off with my friends – what else could I do?  

I tried to stay to the right  because I knew I was going to need to slow down.  Unfortunately, being that far up in the pack I started off much too fast and was shocked when I realized I had run the first mile in 11:20 and was quickly slowing down so I tried to stay smart through mile 2 and stuck to run/walk intervals.  I hadn’t set my Garmin for intervals so my version of intervals went something like this – run to intersection walk past the cones, run to next intersection.  Mile 2 went by without much problem and I was still feeling good so I pushed through mile 3 and when I saw the finish line, I went for it! After I finally caught my breath I realized I had run my fastest 5K yet 37:52!

Post Race PR GlowImage

Now for the good part…post race food.  This is the only 5K I know of that has the following at the finish line:  Chocolate milk (whole and nonfat), juice, water, plain milk, ice cream sandwiches, nutty buddies, spaghetti, mac and cheese, and rolls!

Image

And finally, the awesome shoes that made me super fast!

Image

What is the best post race food you ever had?

Leave a Reply

Not Your Average Athlete

Running Through LIfe One Step At A Time

Becoming A Runner

A blog about the baby steps

Curvy Girl Unloaded

My Evolution to a Healthier Me

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

A Girl Runs in Brooklyn

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

Angry Jogger

Running, Yoga, and Food

Sarah OUaL

seeking the "greener" "other side"

Loving Life

dedicated to healthy living and hoping to inspire others along the way

Kath Eats Real Food

A Blog Devoted to Healthy Living

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

