Will Run For Yoga

Running, Yoga, and Food

Taking it back to the mat

on April 10, 2013

I haven’t said much about myself except that I used to be a few sizes bigger and I like to run so I might as well start now.  I am an adjunct music professor at a university – which pretty much means I am overworked, underpaid, and have to maintain a large private music studio in addition to my work at the university just to maintain a lower-middle class lifestyle.  Quite frankly, I could probably get a job at a popular coffee chain, work less, get paid more, and even get benefits!  Unfortunately, I love my job so no coffee shop for me just yet.

The last few weeks of classes are winding down and every year around this time, my work life gets overwhelming and I have to deal with a lot of stress.  For me, this means I rarely get a good night’s sleep and down lots of coffee just to get through the day.  Adding to the stress, they have not yet turned on the a/c in the building (even though it is in the 80s) and my office is boiling!  Yesterday, I was so exhausted that I canceled everything scheduled in the afternoon (including my training session and my run) and went home and tried to take a nap.  The napping was unsuccessful but I did get to rest a little.  

I kept going back and forth as to whether I should go to yoga class.  I knew my body was tired but I also knew it was very tense.  I decided that a yoga class certainly couldn’t hurt and decided to go.  The class was tough for me but as the sweat started to drip and I focused on my breath, everything else went away.  I focused only on the practice, let everything else go and by the end of class felt so much better!  

I still had a rough night’s sleep but It was better than the last few and my body is still not very happy with me.   I keep reminding myself that I only have to deal with this kind of stress for a couple more weeks and until then, I will try to remember to stop and breathe.

Leave a Reply

Not Your Average Athlete

Running Through LIfe One Step At A Time

Becoming A Runner

A blog about the baby steps

Curvy Girl Unloaded

My Evolution to a Healthier Me

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

A Girl Runs in Brooklyn

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

Angry Jogger

Running, Yoga, and Food

Sarah OUaL

seeking the "greener" "other side"

Loving Life

dedicated to healthy living and hoping to inspire others along the way

Kath Eats Real Food

A Blog Devoted to Healthy Living

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

