Will Run For Yoga

Running, Yoga, and Food

Making Peace With My Pace

on February 12, 2013

As I study yoga, I am constantly taught to not let my ego get in the way.  In my yoga practice,  I am very accepting of what my body is capable of in the moment and I am always reminding myself to ignore the ego, but when it comes to running I just can’t seem to let it go.

I frequently run on the treadmill before I workout with my personal trainer and the truth is, my body is very comfortable running at 4.5 mph.  I’m not quite sure why this bothers me, but I find anything under 5 mph unacceptable.  I can run for about 3 minutes at 5 mph and then I need a walk break but at 4.5 mph I can go for miles, yet I have a really hard time making myself slow down.

After struggling with my speed issues on the treadmill the other day, I began to ask myself why it bothered me so much.  It’s not like other people care (or are even looking) how fast I am running and I am much more comfortable running at 4.5 mph.  I have decided I am making it my mission to make peace with my pace on the easy runs…well, I’m going to try anyway.

On a completely different note, today I registered for the Tom King Classic Half Marathon.  It is in four weeks so I will have to alter my training plan but if I change my long run from 7 to 9 this week, I will be able to increase my mileage over the next few weeks and be ready for the race.  I also am going to try to get one of the last few spots for the Oak Barrel Half so my original 16 week training plan for the one half marathon may turn into a 16 week plan with two extra half marathons built in…what can I say, I’m adventurous!

Leave a Reply

Not Your Average Athlete

Running Through LIfe One Step At A Time

Becoming A Runner

A blog about the baby steps

Curvy Girl Unloaded

My Evolution to a Healthier Me

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

A Girl Runs in Brooklyn

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

Angry Jogger

Running, Yoga, and Food

Sarah OUaL

seeking the "greener" "other side"

Loving Life

dedicated to healthy living and hoping to inspire others along the way

Kath Eats Real Food

A Blog Devoted to Healthy Living

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

