Will Run For Yoga

Running, Yoga, and Food

Long Run – Week 2

on January 23, 2013

My goal for this week was to stick to my training plan, and for the most part, I accomplished it.

This weeks long run called for 5 miles.  I wanted to take it easy, incorporate a few hills, and still enjoy it.  There is a park about a mile from my house that has both paved walking trails and unpaved hiking trails and since I have run it many times before, I knew there were two challenging hills.  I figured an out and back would be about 5 miles, so off I went!

I did a 5 minute walking warm up and moved into intervals of run 2 walk 1.  I set my garmin so that I couldn’t see the mileage because I knew I was going slow and would get frustrated by my speed.  Once I got to the top of the second hill and actually checked my watch, I was very surprised to realize I had run 3 miles, not 2.5.

I turned around and headed home, still maintaining my 2:1 intervals.  By the time I got to mile 4.5 I was still feeling great so I started skipping the walks.  I finished up a total of 6 miles feeling nice and strong.

Week 2 goal…accomplished!

 

Leave a Reply

Not Your Average Athlete

Running Through LIfe One Step At A Time

Becoming A Runner

A blog about the baby steps

Curvy Girl Unloaded

My Evolution to a Healthier Me

Ultra Runner Girl

Writing about running, war zones, and everything in between

A Girl Runs in Brooklyn

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

Angry Jogger

Running, Yoga, and Food

Sarah OUaL

seeking the "greener" "other side"

Loving Life

dedicated to healthy living and hoping to inspire others along the way

Kath Eats Real Food

A Blog Devoted to Healthy Living

Run Eat Repeat

Running Weight loss Lifestyle Food

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

